top of page

Teaching Experiment

The first experience or “experiment” a novice undertakes is called the teaching experiment. There, he works either in a school or in an adult learning center. The reason for this experience is that Ignatius said Jesuits should have some experience teaching catechism to children and other unlettered people.

My classmates were grouped together into pairs for their assignments, but I was sent to St. Thomas More Catholic School by myself. The school itself was across the street from the novitiate and enrolled students from kindergarten through 8th grade.

Shortly, I worked out my weekly schedule with the principal and the teachers in the school. I studied mathematics as an undergraduate at Loyola University Chicago, so I volunteered those talents to the school, and the staff was more than willing to take advantage of my skills.

In the course of a week, I tutored three very bright 1st graders, pulled out 2nd graders to play math games, worked with struggling 5th graders, helped the math team of 7th and 8th graders, tutored middle schoolers in math, made sure a class of 1st graders behaved during Mass, and worked with the extended-day program.

While this list of activities can appear extensive and exhausting, it is important to note that I was only there twice a week and for roughly 10 hours in a given week. The work at times seemed a bit disorganized and haphazard, but it proved very fulfilling. It was also my first time doing volunteer work on an extended basis.

I went there every Monday and Wednesday smiling and full of life. The energy the youths had inspired me to try harder. Academically, little excited me more than being able to teach a student a concept and see it sink in.

For me, the real joy of the ministry was my time with the extended day program. Mostly, I played games with the students, and there I was able to more fully be myself. I didn’t have to be a tutor (though I certainly could help), but I could be Mr. Sean and let the students vie for my attention and see what they wanted to do.

One day, we spent a little time outside and so played tag. One of the men a year ahead of me in formation noticed me and said that I had the biggest smile on my face. My joy came from working with these students and bringing them little moments of happiness, to see that another person cared about them.

Cover Image Merrimack College-School of Education by Flickr User Merrimack College, via Flickr Creative Commons, available here.


A Novice's Life
bottom of page